Updating Your Direction

Posted on Updated on

 

A few years back I watched the movie The Bucket List starring Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman. Although very Hollywood’y it’s a beautiful movie – and if you let it, very inspiring.
A couple of weeks ago I watched it again and afterwards I decided “hey, I should do my bucket list!”. Making that decision, an inner clarification process was started. Desires and ambitions all rose to the surface and went through a selection; I realised that not everything I wish to do in life belongs on the actual bucket list. There’s a lot of things I would love to do, places to go, goals to achieve – but somehow, what goes on the list should be more important. Initially I would just scribble down everything that came to mind but taking each thing, looking at it, feeling it, I would end up erasing most again. It’s not enough to want it. I need to feel it in my heart.

Gradually the list became longer and as I’m writing there’s 11 items on it. 2 of them are very specific wishes; to attend the New Year Concert in Vienna and to tango in Buenos Aires. The rest is a mix of places, skills and events.

The clarity and satisfaction of going through this process then spread; discussing the whole thing with my roommate made her realise that what would be on the top of her list is to run a marathon. She has been considering it for years but never committed to it. Now realising exactly how important it is, she made the decision to go for it. Just 20 minutes later she comes out of her room, clearly very emotional and with an expression somewhere between joy and fear and tells me “I just signed up for the marathon!”

Updating your direction is such a life affirming gift for yourself. It will give you fresh motivation and reconnect you with your deeper values. And it doesn’t really matter if you do the bucket list or the vision board or something else (I say do all of it!) but it matters that you make time to listen to your soul.

Enjoy your journey!

One thought on “Updating Your Direction

    […] bigger dreams will help you navigate through the smaller steps to get there. Earlier I did a short post about this and I really do believe in the profound effect of these manifestation […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

