Autobiography in Five Chapters

Posted on Updated on

 

I’m reading The Tibetan Book of Living & Dying. It’s a great book so far and it makes so much sense that I’m reading it now, surrounded by Tibetans, looking over at Dalai Lama’s Temple.

In the beginning of the book, Sogyal Rinpoche is talking about impermanence, how to embrace change and not be a slave to habits (very short description).

I’m not sure if this poem is by Nyoshul Khenpo but nevertheless, it’s wonderful!

 

Autobiography in Five Chapters

 

1)

I walk down the street

There’s a deep hole in the sidewalk

I fall in

I am lost… I am hopeless

It isn’t my fault

It takes forever to find a way out

2)

I walk down the same street

There’s a deep hole in the sidewalk

I pretend I don’t see it

I fall in again

I can’t believe I’m in the same place

But it isn’t my fault

It still takes a long time to get out

3)

I walk down the same street

There’s a deep hole in the sidewalk

I see it is there

I still fall in… It’s a habit

My eyes are open

I know where I am

It is my fault

I get out immediately

4)

I walk down the same street

There’s a deep hole in the sidewalk

I walk around it

5)

I walk down another street.

Love it :)

4 thoughts on “Autobiography in Five Chapters

    Doug said:
    March 25, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    There are holes in the world.
    I can’t believe the world is
    Swiss cheese

    I’d rather have Danish blue cheese
    and whine about wine, but

    I guess if I tried
    I could skate on Swiss slices
    like holy snow
    OK, never mind, I got lost here. Don’t know where to go from here. Liked the post. Thanks.

    Like

      realityinprogress said:
      March 25, 2012 at 2:22 pm

      Haha that’s awesome!

      Thank you :)

      Like

        Doug said:
        March 25, 2012 at 8:16 pm

        Thanks. I forgot I had started here and combined two comments later. Thanks for the inspiration.

        Like

Leave a Reply

