Flash Fiction – Wasted Time

Posted on Updated on

 

A few days ago I was given a challenge by the amazingly talented Moses to write Flash Fiction. I have never done so before, which of course is the perfect reason to accept anything really.

This is our first one but I have a feeling there will be others and so I invite anyone reading this to join in the fun.

I must say, this has really been a challenge and I definitely feel like a beginner. But it has also been so much fun and I’m excited to dive deeper into this newfound universe of writing.

So, to the writing.

*******

Flash Fiction

Topic – Wasted Time

Word count – 120

Mood – Raw Emotion

Genre – Realistic Fiction

A surreal desperation is echoing a scream inside him. All this time he had thought that he was on the way to something great. A dream he never created, justified procrastination. A lie.

He closes his eyes, overwhelmed with a sudden nausea, the scream threatening to blow his entire body to pieces. Now he is stuck in this mediocrity. Middle aged and alone. With a memory of how it could have been. How it should have been. How it never will be again.

He picks up the article. ”How can you be dead?” he whispers to the picture of her face. The scream reaches his lips and his whole world is an icy explosion. Frozen ashes of a life wasted.

*******

Feel very free to comment, it would be great to get some critique :)

And also, go check out the other entries here, I’m very excited to read them myself!

And last, do join in!!

16 thoughts on “Flash Fiction – Wasted Time

    Kyle said:
    March 29, 2012 at 10:08 am

    brilliant – love it

    Like

    moses11 said:
    March 29, 2012 at 10:41 am

    I must agree with Kyle, for a a so called beginner you’re rocking flash fiction. It is amazing though isn’t it? Trying to compress and distill all that emotion in such few words.

    Like

      realityinprogress said:
      March 29, 2012 at 10:57 am

      It was so difficult but I really loved it. Trying to reach all the way around what I wanted to convey and still stay within the subject – ugh :D
      Thank you.
      – and I love yours!

      Like

        moses11 said:
        March 29, 2012 at 12:19 pm

        Yea, my problem is I get hooked to the story and it’s almost painful to have to force myself to stop. I can barely resist going back and fleshing out the characters and painting the scene…

        Like

          realityinprogress said:
          March 29, 2012 at 1:11 pm

          Then you should do that. Make it into a short story or even a novel – then you could let it all out :)

          Like

    Nowan Zen said:
    March 29, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    Not sure people would appreciate if I went flashing about. But I’ll give it a go.

    You are talented!

    Like

    Joe Pineda said:
    March 29, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    Raw emotion indeed. Pulling off something like this, in my opinion, is rather difficult to do. Usually, raw, powerful emotions go hand in hand with dramatic, elaborate wording and thus longer. But you’ve shown me you can rely on an economy of words to get your point across. I guess it’s an issue of context too.

    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

      realityinprogress said:
      March 29, 2012 at 4:06 pm

      Wow thank you for that amazing comment. I really appreciate your opinion and I’m so happy that my first attempt on this kind of writing has been received so well.

      Like

    jensine said:
    March 29, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    Well done … and I really well written all thumbs up from me,

    Like

      realityinprogress said:
      March 29, 2012 at 10:06 pm

      Thank you so much! If not this time, I really hope you would want to join for the next one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

