Something New

Posted on

 

Getting out of bed this morning was a challenge. Not because I partied last night or had a hot man lying next to me – but because last night I decided to try something completely new. I went to my very first Crossfit class.

Now, I love yoga, I like running and I bike almost every day because that is by far the most convenient way to get around Copenhagen, not to mention absolutely lovely in the summer breeze. But going to a gym, lifting weights, running the treadmill and doing classes has never really been my thing. I’ve signed up plenty of times and stayed with it for a while but it always fizzles out. However, for the past few months I’ve had the urge to get more physical and in my new job I really need to be as fit as possible – so I was thinking, why not try something different?

The place was an old factory, still a work in progress and very… let’s say rustic. It was messy, a little dirty and kind of stinky – I immediately liked it. Okay, I admit that when I was standing around waiting for the previous class to finish, witnessing people clearly in pain, screaming out curses while literally dripping sweat on the floor, I was considering to make a run for it.

The warmup was a series of different jumps and push ups – I think already here I realized exactly how out of shape I am. After that followed almost an hour of the weirdest exercises I have ever tried. We were swinging kettlebells, using a giant hammer and throwing oversize (and over heavy) balls across the room and jumping up and down big wooden boxes. There were five ‘stations’ with different exercises, we got one minute at each and then switch to the next and by the end of the round a one minute break. Brutal! I was the color of beetroot, moaning, sweating, panting and on the verge of simply barfing up my lungs. If it hadn’t been for my stubbornness along with the mean drill sergeant hot motivator screaming out his enthusiastic support, I would have given up. And still, in the middle of the excruciating pain, I loved it. My body was fighting for its life alive and afterwards the most amazing calm settled in every cell. Well, calm and pain that is.

It turns out that my legs are doing pretty good, I guess because of all the biking. But my arms, ugh! Let’s just say that biking home was risky since I no longer had any real control over my arms and therefore wasn’t able to steer properly. At home, I spent half an hour on my yoga matt stretching and moaning out more pain and the whole shower-cooking routine was a strenuous mountain of wobble. Several times I just had to laugh out loud because of my patheticness.

So, today I’m in pain. Not as much as expected but still enough to be convinced that at least my upper body needs more whipping into shape. I’m going to stick with this for the next month and then we’ll see.

Trying new things is one of the most important aspects of my life. Travelling is definitely the ultimate adventure for me but since that is not possible all the time, bringing the adventure into my everyday life is what keeps me motivated and inspired – and now fit as well.

6 thoughts on “Something New

    Lisa Lynette said:
    May 22, 2012 at 11:38 am

    I want to try crossfit SO BAD!! It sounds so much fun! They don’t have it here where I live which is so dissapointing! Keep up the good work though, excited to read more about what you think of it :)

    Like

      realityinprogress responded:
      May 22, 2012 at 12:15 pm

      That’s so funny, I’ve known about it for a long time but never wanted to try it myself – and turns out I loved it. I think it’s still kind of new’ish so maybe it will start up somewhere close to you. I definitely recommend it!

      Like

    jensine said:
    May 22, 2012 at 11:55 am

    wow you soud so fit, i am so lazy should take an example of you

    Like

      realityinprogress responded:
      May 22, 2012 at 12:17 pm

      I’m not so fit at all – but I will be! :D
      And you should really try Crossfit, just as a new experience, not necessarily as a regular thing – I hope you do.

      Like

        jensine said:
        May 22, 2012 at 12:47 pm

        I think i should try and go to the gym more … really should

        Like

          realityinprogress responded:
          May 22, 2012 at 12:52 pm

          Well if you have the urge, then do it – but if not, just give yourself a break :)

          Like

Leave a Reply

