A Thousand Plateaus – an unexpected crush

Posted on Updated on

So, I’m still reading. Today not so much though, since a weird phenomenon has occurred; it feels like something has started spinning in my head. Like literally spinning at high-speed right at the core of my brain. Honestly, it’s a little inconvenient because what I can best describe as the centrifugal force is making me very dizzy, sometimes to the point of actually having to hold on to something not to tilt. Even when I’m already lying down. All day I’ve been pondering this new experience and so far I’ve formed two working theories to guide my further exploration; brain tumor or enlightenment. Possibly both.

Yesterday I finally got started on A Thousand Plateaus by Deleuze and Guattari and I’ve been able to continue for short periods today. That book is brilliant and I’m challenged, inspired, confused, and completely in love.

This is from the very beginning of it:

“… Since each of us was several, there was already quite a crowd. Here we have made use of everything that came within range, what was closest as well as farthest away. We have assigned clever pseudonyms to prevent recognition. Why have we kept our own names? Out of habit, purely out of habit. To make ourselves unrecognizable in turn. To render imperceptible, not ourselves, but what makes us act, feel, and think. Also because it’s nice to talk like everybody else, to say the sun rises, when everybody knows it’s only a manner of speaking. To reach, not the point where one no longer says I, but the point where it is no longer of any importance whether one says I. We are no longer ourselves. Each will know his own. We have been aided, inspired, multiplied.” 

There are plenty of their thoughts that I’m not yet able to fully grasp but still enough for me to grow wings and take off into a reality where being is just an attempt to freeze the constant dynamics of becoming.

So although the dizziness has prevented me from dancing today, the book has enabled me to fly – I think that’s an acceptable trade-off.

4 thoughts on “A Thousand Plateaus – an unexpected crush

    Nowan Zen said:
    October 17, 2013 at 3:49 pm

    I have experienced a lightheaded-dizziness too of late. Are we on the same wavelength? Are you sending me mental messages? Cyclonic Minds want to know.

    Flying is much more fun than dancing sometimes. The views are absolutely breathtaking. But imagine being able to sky dance!

    Like

      realityinprogress responded:
      October 17, 2013 at 4:51 pm

      Have you really? Interesting.. Maybe it’s the mothership summoning us for service. I’ve been having so much fun and was kinda hoping they forgot about me. We should scramble the signal asap and get back to the important things of life; dancing through the clouds :)

      Like

        Nowan Zen said:
        October 17, 2013 at 5:54 pm

        Seriously, I have been lightheaded and feeling off balance for almost a week now. But we can share the aluminum to make hats!

        There truly is too much fun yet to have… I was going to make some cheesy comment about dancing with the stars, but let’s go for soaring as we dance instead! The music and rhythm of the earth intoxicates.

        Like

          realityinprogress responded:
          October 17, 2013 at 7:19 pm

          Haha dancing with the stars is way better – just the right amount of cheesiness!
          The dizziness thing is really weird though.. I wonder what that’s all about. And also, we might need some protective pillows in case the hats don’t do the trick.

          Like

Leave a Reply

